the takuvik


Département de Biologie /
Pavillon Alexandre-Vachon
1045, av. de la Médecine, local 2064
Université Laval
Québec (Québec) G1V 0A6
Phone : +1 418 656 2131 ext. 4880



Marcel Babin

Takuvik director
Holder of the Canada Excellence Research Chair

Louis Fortier

Takuvik Scientific Director
Professor (ULaval) - zooplankton

Marie-Hélène Forget

Coordinator - (ULaval)

Julie Sansoulet

Coordinator - CNRS - Communication/Humanities

Béatrice Saint-Cricq

Partnership and technology transfer - CNRS


Philippe Archambault

Professor (ULaval)
Marine biodiversity and ecosystems

Raoul-Marie Couture

Professor (ULaval)
Lakes, soil, sediment geochemistry

Alexander Culley

Professor Microbial Virology (ULaval)

Florent Domine

Senior scientist (CNRS)
Snow physical and chemical properties

Patrick Lajeunesse

Professor (ULaval)
Marine geomorphology

Johann Lavaud

Scientist (CNRS)
Ecophysiology of microalgae

Maurice Levasseur

Professor (ULaval)
Production of DMS and NO2, Harmful algal blooms

Connie Lovejoy

Professor (ULaval)
Microbial biodiversity

Frédéric Maps

Professor (ULaval)
Marine ecosystem modeling

Reinhard Pienitz

Professor (ULaval)

Jean-Eric Tremblay

Professor (ULaval)
Phytoplankton and nutrient dynamics

Warwick Vincent

Professor (ULaval)
Limnology and microbial ecology

Research assistants

Cyril Aubry

Arctic cod ecosystems (ULaval, supervisor L. Fortier)

Guislain Bécu

Marine optics & new observing platforms (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Marine Beguin

Phytoplankton ecophysiology (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Flavienne Bruyant

Phytoplankton ecophysiology (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Gabriele Deslongchamps

Oceanography (ULaval, supervisor J.-E. Tremblay)

Thibaud Dezutter

Oceanography (ULaval, supervisor L. Fortier)

Joannie Ferland

Phytoplankton ecophysiology (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Gabrielle Fortin

Coordinator BriGHT project (ULaval, supervisor J.-E. Tremblay)

Jonathan Gagnon

Phytoplankton ecophysiology (ULaval, supervisor J.-E. Tremblay)

Cindy Grant

Marine biodiversity (ULaval, supervisor P. Archambault)

Caroline Guilmette

Geochemistry, stable isotopes (CNRS, supervisor M. Babin)

Gabriel Joyal

Research Associate in Marine Geomorphology and Seabed mapping (ULaval, supervisor P. Lajeunesse)

José Lagunas-Morales

New observing platforms and electronics (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Martine Lizotte

Nunataryuk coordinator (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Claudie Marec

Experimental oceanography (CNRS, supervisor M. Babin)

Marie-Josée Martineau

HPLC pigment (ULaval, supervisor W. Vincent)

Philippe Massicotte

Optics - remote sensing - modeling (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Atsushi Matsuoka

Research Associate in Marine Optics (CNRS, supervisor M. Babin)

Jean-Guy Nistad

Research professional
Marine geomorphology (ULaval, supervisor P. Lajeunesse)

Claudine Ouellet

Coordinator CNRS (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Marianne Potvin

Microbial biodiversity (ULaval, supervisor C. Lovejoy)

Eric Rehm

Remote Sensing (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Denis Sarrazin

Geomorphology, permafrost (ULaval, supervisor W. Vincent)

Claudia Zimmermann

Paleolimnology (ULaval, supervisor R. Pienitz)

Post-doctoral fellows

Rémi Amiraux

Lipid biomarkers (ULaval, supervisor J.-E. Tremblay)

Karen Filbee-Dexter

Field and modeling studies in oceanography (ULaval, supervisor P. Archambault)

Léo Lacour

Physical and Biogeochemical Oceanography (CNRS, supervisor M. Babin)

Catherine Girard

Viral and microbial ecology in the Arctic (ULaval, supervisors A. Culley / W. Vincent)

Simon Lambert Girard

Development of novel optical instruments in oceanography (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Biljana Narancic

Holocene climate change in the Arctic (ULaval, supervisor R. Pienitz)

Alex Matveev

Limnology and microbial ecology (ULaval, supervisor W. Vincent)

Michel Lavoie

DMSP and DMS production (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Anne Ola

Permafrost carbon (ULaval, supervisor F. Domine)

Laurent Oziel

Phytoplancton variability (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)

Sara Pedro

Marine ecology (ULaval, supervisor F. Maps)

Blanche Saint-Béat

Ecophysiological modelling (ULaval, supervisor M. Babin)


PhD Students

Srikanth Ayyala Somayajula

PhD Student
Remote Sensing (supervisor M. Babin)

Paschale Noel Begin

PhD Student
Limnology of a sentinel lake in the Canadian High Arctic (supervisor W.Vincent)

Robin Benard

PhD Student
Production of DMS and NO2, Harmful algal blooms (supervisor M. Levasseur)

Maxime Benoît-gagné

PhD Student
Bio-physical modelling (supervisor F. Maps)

David Beauchesne

Oceanography (supervisor P.Archambault)

Paulina Bruning

PhD Student
Oceanography: Genetic structure, diversity, and population ecology of a Polar regions Soft corals (supervisor P. Archambault)

Charlotte Carrier-Belleau

PhD Student
Impact of human activities on the aquatic ecosystems of the St. Lawrence and on ecosystem services (supervisor P. Archambault)

Valérie Cypihot

PhD Student
Benthic production in the Arctic (supervisor P. Archambault)

Inge Deschepper

PhD Student
Oceanography (supervisor F. Maps)

Elliot Dreujou

PhD Student
Cumulative impacts of anthropogenic stressors on coastal ecosystems (supervisor P. Archambault)

Nastasia Freyria

PhD Student
Oceanography and microbiology (supervisor C.Lovejoy)

Gwenaëlle Gremion

PhD Student
Physical and Biological Modeling of the North Water Polynya (Arctic) Ecosystem (supervisor P. Archambault)

Sebastien Guerin

PhD Student
Phytoplankton species in the Arctic Ocean (supervisor J. Lavaud)

Matthieu Huot

PhD Student
Biophotonics (supervisor P. Archambault)

Loïc Jacquemot

PhD Student
Diversity of microbial communities within the Hudson Bay System (supervisor C. Lovejoy)

Georg Lackner

PhD Student
Analysis of Water and Energy Budgets in a Subarctic Experimental (supervisor F. Domine)

Myriam Labbé

PhD Student
Limnology and microbialecology (supervisor A.Culley)

Julien Laliberté

PhD Student
Remote sensing and optical properties (supervisor M. Babin)

Valérie Langlois

PhD Student
Viral communities in the Arctic Ocean (supervisor P. Archambault)

Janghan Lee

PhD Student
Biogeochemical cycles of essential elements in the ocean (supervisor J.-É. Tremblay)

Juan Li

PhD Student
Modeling ocean colour (supervisor M. Babin)

Marie Pierrejean

PhD Student
Identification and variability of benthic hotspot ecosystems (supervisor F. Maps)

Sophie Renaut

PhD Student
The variability of Arctic ice edge blooms and implications for the biological pump in a period of declining ice cover (supervisor M. Babin)

Sarah Schembri

PhD Student
Biodiversity, distribution and biomass of zooplankton and fish in Hudson Bay (supervisor L. Fortier)

Nicolas Schiffrine

PhD Student
Ecophysiology and nitrogen nutrition of key arctic phytoplankton species (supervisor J.-É. Tremblay)

Theo Sciandra

PhD Student
Polar diatom's physiological and molecular adaptative mechanisms (supervisor M. Babin)

Alumni and Ex-Profesional